AERS - Atlantic Estuarine Research SocietyAtlantic Estuarine Research Society
AERS Meetings
Supporting AERS
Venerable Clam
Society History
Job Postings
Other Meetings
Society Links
AERS Resources
Contact Us
An Affiliate of:

The Venerable Clam

The Venerable Clam - Valve IAERS has a tradition of awarding the "Venerable Clam" at each meeting to a long standing member in attendance who has contributed to field and the society. The recipient of the award is required to adorn the clam with his or her signature, wear the Clam for the remainder of the meeting and be given the "knuckle salute" by all AERS members. While we chide the bearer of the Clam about being honored for being old, the true meaning of the word Venerable "calling forth respect through age, character, and attainments" is at the heart of this coveted award.

The original Venerable clam was established circa 1976 in fond memory and through the inspiration of Dr. Don Lear. The clam, one valve of a Mercenaria mercenaria was placed in service for the society's 33rd year. The defining AERS logo created by then-member Anna Shaughnessy is inscribed on the original valve and the second valve. The original clam (Valve I) bears the names of 29 awardees and was retired in the Spring of 2008. The second valve (Valve II) was placed into service for the AERS 60th Anniversary (Fall 2008) and is now well on its way to being filled up as well. The names of the "Venerabli" are listed below.

Valve I
Valve II
  •   A.J. Lippson
  •   Bennett Anderson
  •   Bette Bauereis
  •   Bob Christian
  •   Dave Carbo
  •   Dexter Haven
  •   Dick Wetzel
  •   Dick Williams
  •   Don Lear
  •   Frank Reilly
  •   Fred Sieling
  •   Harriette Phelps
  •   Jerry Williams
  •   John Kraeuter
  •   John McDermott
  •   Judith Stribling
  •   Kent Mountford
  •   Mario Vieira
  •   Mark Brinson
  •   Mel Carriker
  •   Mike Castagna
  •   Nelson Marshall
  •   Steve Rebach
  •   Steve Storms
  •   Tom Carver
  •   Tom Jones
  •   Tommy Hopking
  •   Vic Kennedy
  •   W.J. Hargis
  •   Marria O'Malley-Walsh
  •   Iris Anderson
  •   Walter Boynton
  •   Dan Dauer
  •   Carolyn Keefe
  •   Joy Bartholomew
  • Dave Yozzo
  • © Atlantic Estuarine Research Society